Main Content
Sound Added to Your Favorites Soundboard

Log in or create an account to save your favorites, or they'll expire in 4 hours

Error Adding Sound
Error adding sound to your favorites.
Sound Reported
Sound reported and our moderators will review it shortly.
Error Reporting Sound
Error reporting sound. Please use the Contact page.
Home > Phantom Planet Soundboard
5 12
Phantom Planet Soundboard

Phantom Planet Soundboard

Phantom Planet is an American rock band hailing from Los Angeles, California. Formed in 1994, the band gained widespread recognition in the early 2000s with their hit single "California," which served as the theme song for the popular television show "The O.C." The band consists of five talented musicians: Alex Greenwald, Sam Farrar, Darren Robinson, Jeff Conrad, and Isom Innis.

Phantom Planet's music is characterized by infectious melodies, catchy hooks, and energetic guitar-driven sound. Their unique blend of alternative rock and power pop has garnered them a dedicated fanbase over the years. The band's debut album, "Phantom Planet Is Missing," was released in 1998, followed by "The Guest" in 2002, and "Phantom Planet" in 2004.

The year 2004 was a significant milestone for Phantom Planet, as their self-titled album featured their biggest hit to date, "California." The song became immensely popular due to its appearance in "The O.C.," a critically acclaimed television series that revolved around the lives of affluent teenagers in Orange County, California. The infectious lyrics and upbeat melody perfectly captured the essence of the show, making it an instant favorite among fans. "California" played a vital role in catapulting the band to mainstream success and established them as one of the frontrunners of the early 2000s pop-rock revival.

The success of "California" led to Phantom Planet making appearances on popular talk shows and touring with renowned bands such as Maroon 5 and Blink-182. Their music became a favorite among fans and critics alike, with their infectious energy and memorable live performances captivating audiences around the world. Songs like "Lonely Day," "Big Brat," and "By the Bed" showcased the band's versatility and songwriting prowess, solidifying their status in the music industry.

In 2008, after a four-year hiatus, Phantom Planet released their fourth studio album, "Raise the Dead." The album showcased a slight departure from their previous sound, incorporating more experimental elements and introspective lyrics. Though it received positive reviews, the band announced an indefinite hiatus soon after its release.

Despite the hiatus, the individual members of Phantom Planet continued to pursue various musical endeavors. Alex Greenwald, the band's lead vocalist, ventured into acting and songwriting, collaborating with artists such as Mark Ronson. Sam Farrar and Jeff Conrad became part of Maroon 5's touring band, while Darren Robinson worked on various music projects. Isom Innis joined the indie rock band Foster the People in 2009.

While their indefinite hiatus may have saddened fans, the legacy of Phantom Planet lives on through their music. Their catchy tunes and memorable lyrics continue to be cherished by listeners around the world. Whether you're a longtime fan or discovering their music for the first time, you can play and download the sounds of Phantom Planet, immersing yourself in their infectious melodies and reliving the nostalgia of their early 2000s heyday.

Phantom Planet's contribution to the world of music cannot be underestimated. Their music perfectly captured the spirit of a generation and left an indelible mark on pop-rock history. So sit back, hit play, and let the catchy tunes of Phantom Planet transport you to a time when power pop ruled the charts.